First broadcast date

Programme types

Categories

vignette

MAY 1968

Discover the May 68 events through archive footage of Swiss Television. This selection of reports shot in France, but also in England, Belgium, Germany and Sweden, give us an insight into the rebellious spirit that spread through Europe and the world in the late 1960s, in such varied fields as education, family, sexuality or work.

Check-out other videos from our 2018 anniversary calendar.

 

Sort by
Results per page
page 1 / 1

Summary :

France, May 1999. The French Green Party's candidate for the European elections of May 1999 Daniel COHN-BENDIT talks about his past as an activist in France and in Germany, and about his career within the European Parliament. He also analyses the policy of the European Union towards the Kosovo crisis and the setting up of a European...

Summary :

CAVANNA takes a stand and speaks about his fight for animal rights that he shares with Brigitte BARDOT. He also stands against urban graffiti which he considers to be a nuisance, before discussing about him keeping his distance with some slogans of May 68.

Check-out other videos from our special file on 

  • Title
  • Collection
  • Broadcast date
    07/09/1983
  • Running time
    01:39:19

Summary :

Geneva, 1983. Joan Baez talks of her life spent between singing and her political commitment. From her childhood to her first steps as a singer with Bob Dylan, she speaks of her non-violent action, her commitment in universities and American civil society for the civic rights of black people and then against the Vietnam War. In 1983, her...

Summary :

Paris, 1981. This is the first in five interviews with French sociologist Edgar Morin. He defines his conception of sociology, analyzes the figure and the work of the intellectual, revisits his anticipation of the major cultural crisis that crystallized in May 1968. He also analyzes the rumor phenomenon in his book "La rumeur d'Orléans"....

Summary :

France, 1976. Emblematic conflict of the after May 68, the LIP affair symbolizes the refusal of workers and salaried employees to be affected by the repercussion of the financial difficultiers of their company by the ownership of means of production through self-management. Charles PIAGET, the man that symbolized the refusal of the workers to...

Summary :

Paris : January 1972. Portrait of the French satirical and humour newspaper Hara-Kiri, dedicated to the motto "Mean and Nasty", which is written with the same acerbic humour of its founders, François CAVANNA and Le Professeur CHORON. The greater freedom of expression of this newspaper caused several publication bans. In spite of them,...

Summary :

Paris, 1968. Following the events of May 1968 and after the dissolution of the French National Assembly by General DE GAULLE, several candidates campaigned for the first round of the legislative elections in order to become the new deputies of the National Assembly. In Saumur and Chateauroux, several politicians, including Charles Hernu, spoke...

Summary :

The writer François MAURIAC expressed support for Charles DE GAULLE after his decision to stay in power. Daniel COHN-BENDIT, student leader, urges the Renault workers to continue striking.

Check-out other videos from our special file on the May 1968...

Summary :

This report shot in Paris in May 68 takes us with Daniel Cohn-Bendit and his fellow students into the heart of the protest movement against the French government, initiated by students and followed by striking workers at Renault. The students organize rallies, meet teachers and workers, proposing to them radical changes for a new society. The...

Summary :

Berlin, 1968. How did German students live the rebellious movement that spread throughout Europe in the 1960s? Considered by some as extremists, young people demonstrated in front of the press mogul Caesar ALEX SPRINGER. As students condemned him for delivering a conservative and frozen vision of the world in his newspapers , ALEX SPRINGER...

Summary :

Antwerp, Wallonia, Belgium, 1968. The difficult economic situation in Wallonia upsets the fragile balance between Flamands and Walloons. Tensions are  surfacing more intensely through students protests, as the latter refuse the paralysis of the Belgian people complelled to choose between European integration, separatism and the status quo....

Summary :

This survey is an overlook of the economic, political and social crisis that overcame England in the 1960s through the portraits of students and young workers. How were the events analyzed by intellectuals, trade unionists and journalists belonging to different sides of the political spectrum?

Check-out other videos from our special...

Summary :

Amsterdam, 1966. This rerport portrays members of the protest movement of the Provos, an alternative and provocative movement at the frontiers of art and politics. Defining what would later be coined as Agitprop, the Provos tries through leaflets, happenings and demonstrations, to bring new values to what they considered a a stiff and...

Summary :

In Sweden, sexual freedom and contraception are taught from an early age under the responsibility of the National League for Sexual Education. This report gives a voice to Swedish youth, through interviews with teenagers expressing their voiews on love and sexual relationships.

Check-out other videos from our special file on 

 
 
page 1 / 1

Date de diffusion

Types d'émission

Thématiques

vignette

MAI 68

Découvrez les événements de mai 68 à travers les archives de la Télévision Suisse. En France, mais également en Angleterre, en Belgique, en Allemagne et en Suède, les archives rassemblées ici offre un aperçu de la vague rebelle qui s'empara de l'Europe et du monde à la fin des années 60, dans des domaines aussi variés que l'éducation, la famille, la sexualité ou encore le travail.

 

Visionnez d’autre documents issus de notre Éphéméride 2018.

 

Trier par
Résultats par page
page 1 / 1

Résumé :

France, mai 1999. Entretien avec Daniel COHN-BENDIT, candidat aux élections européennes de mai 1999 pour Les Verts, le parti écologiste français, qui évoque son passé de militant en France et en Allemagne, ainsi que sa carrière politique au sein du Parlement européen. Il analyse également la politique de l'Union Européenne (UE) dans la...

Résumé :

CAVANNA prend position et s'exprime sur son combat pour la défense des animaux qu'il partage avec Brigitte BARDOT. Il prend également position contre le graffiti urbain qu'il considère comme une nuisance, avant d'évoquer sa prise de distance avec certains slogans de Mai 68.

Visionnez les autres documents de notre dossier 

Résumé :

Genève, 1983. Joan Baez revient sur sa vie passée entre la chanson et l'engagement politique. De son enfance à ses débuts dans la chanson aux côtés de Bob Dylan, la chanteuse évoque son action non-violente, son engagement dans les universités et la société civile américaine pour les droits civiques des Noirs puis contre la guerre du...

Résumé :

Paris, 1981. Premier des cinq entretiens avec le sociologue français Edgar MORIN, qui définit ici sa conception de la sociologie. Il analyse la figure et le travail de l'intellectuel, revient sur son anticipation de la crise culturelle majeure qui se matérialisa en Mai 68, et analyse le phénomène de la rumeur à propos de son livre « La...

Résumé :

France, 1976. Conflit emblématique de l'après mai 68, l'affaire LIP symbolise le refus des ouvriers et des salariés de subir le contrecoup direct des difficultés financières de leur entreprise par la prise en main des moyens de production à travers l'autogestion. Entretien et portrait de Charles PIAGET, l'homme qui symbolisa le refus des...

Résumé :

Paris : janvier 1972. Portrait du journal satirique et humoristique français Hara-Kiri, dont la devise "Bête et Méchant" reprend l'humour féroce de CAVANNA, du Professeur CHORON et de WOLINSKI. La grande liberté de ton du journal lui a valu plusieurs interdictions de publication. Malgré celles-ci, dessinateurs, journalistes et chroniqueurs...

Résumé :

Paris, 1968. Suite aux événements de mai 68 et après la dissolution de l'Assemblée Nationale française par le général DE GAULLE, plusieurs candidats font campagne pour le premier tour des élections législatives afin de devenir les nouveaux députés de l'Assemblée Nationale. A Saumur et à Chateauroux, plusieurs hommes politiques dont...

Résumé :

Alors que l'écrivain François MAURIAC manifeste son soutien au général DE GAULLE après sa décision de rester au pouvoir, les étudiants continuent de manifester. Daniel COHN-BENDIT, leader étudiant, s'exprime lors d'un meeting et exhorte les ouvriers de Renault à poursuivre leur grève. Un document historique.

Visionnez les...

Résumé :

Reportage à Paris en Mai 68, avec Daniel Cohn-Bendit leader des étudiants en colère, en plein coeœur du mouvement de contestation contre le pouvoir, initié par les étudiants, et suivi par les ouvriers en grève chez Renault. Les étudiants organisent des meetings, rencontrent les professeurs et les ouvriers, proposent des changements...

Résumé :

Berlin, 1968. Portrait de la jeunesse étudiante allemande dans les années 60. Considérés par certains comme des extrémistes, des jeunes manifestent devant le groupe du magnat de la presse Caesar ALEX SPRINGER. Accusé par les étudiants d'exercer un monopole sur la presse d'opinion et de manipuler l'opinion en livrant une vision...

Résumé :

Anvers, Wallonie, Belgique, 1968. La difficile situation économique que traverse la Wallonie bouscule le fragile équilibre existant entre Flamands et Wallons. Les tensions se manifestent à travers les protestations d'étudiants, refusant la paralysie du peuple belge devant faire son choix entre l'intégration européenne, le séparatisme et...

Résumé :

Angleterre, 1968. Enquête sur la crise économique, politique et sociale que traverse l'Angleterre. Un panorama s'articulant à travers la rencontre d'étudiants et de travailleurs, notamment par le portrait du quotidien d'un jeune ouvrier. Analyse de la situation par des intellectuels, un syndicaliste et des journalistes anglais appartenant à...

Résumé :

Amsterdam, 1966. Rencontre et portrait des membres du mouvement contestataire des Provos, mouvement alternatif et provocateur aux frontières de l'art et de la politique. Les Provos tentent à travers des tracts, des happenings et des manifestations, de proposer de nouvelles valeurs à une société hollandaise qu'ils considèrent encore très...

Résumé :

Stockholm, 1966. En Suède, la liberté sexuelle et la contraception sont enseignées dès le plus jeune âge, sous la responsabilité de la Ligue Nationale d'Enseignement Sexuel. Rencontre et portrait d'une jeunesse suédoise libre et désinvolte, à travers les interviews d'adolescents qui s'expriment sur leurs relations amoureuses et...

 
 
page 1 / 1